Janice Holt Giles Home

Janice Holt Giles Home

The log home of Kentucky authors, Janice Holt and Henry Giles is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Giles Society was established in 1996 to preserve the literary legacy of Janice Holt Giles and her husband Henry Giles, and to restore their log home.


Giles House is open to the public June-October on Saturday and Sunday from 1:00 P.M. – 4:00 P.M. (CT)


Arts & Crafts Festival at the Historic Log Cabin on the first Saturday of October.

How To Find Giles House

From Campbellsville: Take Hwy. 70 S. to the intersection of Hwy. 76, turn right; continue through Knifley on 76 until you reach Spout Springs Road (see Giles historical marker), turn left, and go .01 mile.

Books by Janice Holt Giles

The Enduring Hills, 1950
Miss Willie, 1951
Tara’s Healing, 1951
The Kentuckians, 1953
The Plum Thicket, 1954
Hill Man (writing as John Garth), 1954, (re-issued under Giles’s name, Spring 2000)
Hannah Fowler, 1956
The Believers, 1957
Land Beyond the Mountains, 1958
Johnny Osage, 1960
Savanna, 1961
Voyage to Santa Fe, 1962
Run Me a River, 1964
The Great Adventure, 1966
Shady Grove, 1967
Six-Horse Hitch, 1968
Act of Contrition (written in the 1950s, but unpublished until 2001)

Collection of Fiction and Nonfiction:  Wellspring, 1975 Nonfiction:
40 Acres and No Mule, 1952
The Damned Engineers, 1970
The Kinta Years, 1973  Books by Janice Holt Giles and Henry Giles


Harbin’s Ridge, 1951

A Little Better Than Plumb, 1963
The GI Journal of Sergeant Giles, 1965
Around Our House, 1971

Board Members Needed

Contact: keysha.tucker@yahoo.com